logo transparent 100

Minutes of the General Assembly of the IASJ

Zagreb, Croatia, Thursday July 4th, 2019

EMBA /TAMABA Ale Demogli
University of Brazilia Renato Vasconcellos
Croatia Rock Academy Ladislav Račić
Also present: Maja Jakolis
AMMUS Bucaramanga Carlos Rueda
University of Tartu, Viljandi Culture Academy Inaki Sandoval
University of the Arts Helsinki, Jari Perkiömäki
Metropolia, Helsinki, Pekka Luuka
Centre des Musiques Didier Lockwood Chantal Charlier
Also present: Andre Charlier
PSBB, Paris Jean-Charles Richard
HfMT Cologne Annette von Eichel
University of Music and Performing Arts, Mannheim Michael Küttner
Jazz Institute der Höchschule für Music and Theater, Munich Andy Kissenbeck
Also present: Tizian Jost
Jazep Vitols Latvian Music Academy Indrikis Veitners
Royal Conservatory, The Hague, Wouter Turkenburg
Also present: Martijn van Iterson
Escola Superior de Música de Lisboa Ricardo Pinheiro
Hot Clube de Portugal Joana Espadinha
Universidade Lusiada de Lisboa Massimo Cavallio
Fridhems Folkhögskola Anders Vestergård
Lucerne School of Music Hämi Hämmerli
Also present: Michael Arbenz
Lucerne School of Music Susanne Abbuehl
New England Conservatory, Boston Ken Schaphorst
The New School of Jazz and Contemporary Music, NYC Keller Coker
University of Colorado, Bolder John Gunther
University of Massachusetts, Amherst Felipe Salles
University of Miami, Frost School of Music Gary Keller
University of Denver, Lamont School of Music Lynn Baker
Northwest Vista College, San Antonio, Texas Brian Christensen
Royal Academy of Music, London Nick Smart

Also present: Wouter Turkenburg (Executive Director); David Liebman (Artisti Director); Caris Liebman (Honorary Member)

1. Opening Remarks
Chairman Jari Perkiömäki welcomes all participants to the General Assembly.
Jari and Walter commemorate Karlheinz Miklin who passed away recently. One minute of silence is observed.

2. Minutes of the previous meeting
Minutes of the General Assembly July 2018, Viljandi, Estonia read and approved.

3. Financial Report
- Financial Report 2018 presented to the GA.
Financial committee consisting of Gary Keller and Michael Küttner approved the financial report proposed by the Full Board. GA approves report and releases treasurer and board of the responsibility of this report.
- Financial planning 2019: key figures shown and explained to GA by the ED and approved by GA.

4. IASJ Documentation
The Charter, The Bye-Laws, The IASJ Jazz Meeting Guidelines

No changes, suggestions and remarks. The ED will make an update of the guidelines.
The board will work on the new charter bye-laws or guidelines and present it to the GA next year.

5. IASJ Publications

6. The IASJ Future Development
• Affiliations and Collaborations:
International Music Council (IMC), European Music Council (EMC); Association Européenne des Conservatoires (AEC), ISIM, CLAEM; Jazz Educators Network (JEN);

• Strategic Plan 2016-2020:
The current plan remains the same. Members are encouraged to promote the IASJ more by contacting and informing possible new members. The SB will no longer be located in the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague. The ED is given the task to find a new location.

7. Elections to the Board
After the GA in July 2018, the roster now is:
Hämi Hämmerli steps down in 2019 (does not stand for re-election)
Jaak Sooäär steps down in 2020
Jari Perkiömäki steps down in 2020
Dimos Dimitriadis steps down in 2021
Nick Smart steps down in 2021
Ricardo Pinheiro steps down in 2022
Iñaki Sandoval steps down in 2022

Felipe Salles is standing for election. Felipe is elected to the board.
Diversity as a goal mentioned and asked by the members to consider.

8. The future IASJ Jazz Meetings and IASJ Jazz Education Conferences
2020 Keller Coker presents the most probable possibility of New School in NY hosting next year’s meeting 2020. July 2020. Theme of diversity suggested for the 30rth anniversary and ways to be encouraged.

Jazz Conference in the Hague November 2020.

2021 Andeas Kissenbeck makes a presentation on Munich meeting.
2022 No official offer. Andeas Kissenbeck briefly presents (Martin Zenker) a proposition for a meeting in Ulan Batar, Mongolia.
2023 Helsinki on the occasion of 40year Sibelius jazz program. Jari presents

9. Any other business
No discussion.

10. Statement of the Artistic Director and the Executive Director
Chairman brings assembly to a close and asks the ED and AD to address the closing of the assembly.
ED praises the Ladislav Racic for organizing such a successful and special meeting given the limited means of the school.
The AD praises and thanks to the Zagreb Rock Academy team that did such a wonderful job.

11. Closing of the General Assembly by the Chairman
The IASJ flag will be handed over by Ladislav Račić to Keller Coker of the New School, next year’s host.
The Chairman closes the 2019 GA.


The IASJ is a long standing member of the IMC, the International Music Coucil, affiliated with UNESCO.

The IASJ, founded in 1989, brought together over 3000 jazz students, teachers and directors from all over the world.

The IASJ promotes cultural diversity and does not discriminate towards nationality, religion, gender or age